Hello guys this is Doronsmovies and today
I got another world of warcraft lore lesson. In this video I will be talking about something
quite interesting that has been requested many times by now and that is the arcane magic.
Before commenting please keep in mind that this just as a lot of other things in the
warcraft universe is a topic that is not fully explained so there are a lot of speculations
going around it and different opinions, so some people might agree and won’t. So without
further ado let’s get into the lore. Arcane magic is one of the most powerful types
of magic on the world of Azeroth and even draenor and is the only one where you can
just use it, you don’t have to bargain or make deals like the shaman and the druid,
you just do it. Classic example is the fire and water that they can abuse because they
control the elements through arcane magic, thus being able to summon water elementals
for a certain period of time. But arcane even though practiced through out the world by
many different casters it is quite dangerous on itself and it requires an experienced person
in order to wield it properly. There are 4 laws of the arcane.
– Magic is powerful. Pretty straight forward, a mage wielding arcane magic can be very powerful
and dangerous. – Magic is corrupting. Even though people
deny it it is true for all schools of the arcane which I’m going to mention later on
in this video. And many of it’s users can become very arrogant and step out of line
in search for more power. – Magic is addicting. The high elves are the
finest example of this and many regular casters require the arcane surge or they can suffer
withdrawal and if the casters are young or very old and weak they can actually die from
it. – Magic draws evil closer – The use of the
arcane draws all sorts of evil creatures from the twisting nether and all around. A classic
example of this is the burning legion who saw the practice of it as a beacon. And in
many cases this law proved right even though everyone thinks they are safe.
Apperance wise the magic in it’s purest form is white or has a violet glow to it and when
used to bend other types of energy it can acquire a different colour, for example green
when practicing necromancy or bronze when practicing chronomancy.
Azeroth was firstly introduced to arcane magic when the titans created the well of eternity
which was filled with potent arcane energy. Soon the dark trolls came and next to it they
evolved into the night elves, which is a classic example of how the arcane energy can affect
a certain being. Soon enough the highborne starting practicing
it uncontrollably which drew the attention of the burning legion, proving the 4th law
of the arcane. After that there was still a certain group of highborne that practiced
arcane magic even though they knew what sort of trouble it caused for the entire world.
They were later exiled by the night elves and they sailed to the Eastern Kingdom becoming
what we know today as the high elves. Later on those high elves tought the humans
the ways of the arcane as a part of a deal since they aided them in the battle against
the trolls. The humans even though short lived compared to other race proved to be more than
able to become masters of it and soon they formed their own city based on magic called
Dalaran, with the help of the elves. The elves themselves are considered quite
the masters of such magics but currently the draenei are without a doubt the most powerful
casters as for more than 25 thousand years arcane magic was their tradition even though
now they are beings of the light. For that exact reason they drew the attention of Sargeras
and that is why he corrupted most of the eredar race. So knowledge wise right now on Azeroth
the draenei are the first although they are near the elves or the humans especially number
wise. Lastly I’m going to walk you through the different
schools of magic as shown by the Dalaran mages. – First you have the Abjuration which is a
study of protective magic, such as summoning a mana shield, thus transforming raw mana
into a barrier. It is mostly used for protective purposes.
– Second is conjuration. Which is a study of magicially spawning creatures or objects.
An example would be conjuring a water elemental that lasts for a certain period of time or
mostly popular in wow conjured food, meaning that the mages can magically spawn food or
water. – Third is Divination. This school of magic
can actually be used to counter a different school called illusion and it is a study of
gathering information. Mages can see distant targets or even see things that aren’t visible
to the naked eye, or seeing through illusions. It isn’t generally an offensive school of
magic but it is quite useful. – 4th is Enhancement which is a process of
as it says enchanting certain objects or a person with magic. It can either be permanent
or temporary and enchanting something makes it more powerful and gives it different magical
abilities. It is also possible to get rid of the enhahcment with a process called disenchanting
which removes the magic properties. – 5th is Illusion, which I mentioned before
can be countered by the third school of magic called Divination. Ilusion is a process where
a caster can make things happen that are not really there in order to decive, be it a fake
image of a certain person of a fake location. It is often used by mages in order to outsmart
their opponents – 6th school is Transmutation. It is quite
a popular one and this one allows the caster to manipulate time and space. Generally it
has 2 uses, either for polymorphing which is a process of transforming a person into
different forms which is used in combat, or teleporting which itself has a few forms.
The most basic form is blink which allows the mage to immediatly pass a short distance
with a quick teleport and the other well known one is telepororting as in passing through
large distances with the use of the portals. 7th School is evocation. Which in itself is
a bit confusing but is considered to be the art of gathering magic and focusing ones mind.
As in immediatly getting a certain amount of energy or helping a mage in casting different
spells. 8th and the final school is necromancy. Which
is strictly forbidden and is quite a ville one because the casters can reanimate the
dead and control them and even after they are killed they can bind different body parts
and infuse the creature and use it. It can also conjure certain disases and plagues.
It is stricly outlawed and only certain races like the forsaken pracitice it even though
other ones do it away from the public eye. That is it on the known schools. It is considered
that there are other forms of magic and a mage has to go through immense study in order
to master all of the schools. And usually they are mixed together, but a knowledgable
mage knows which schools to combine and which combinations to avoid.
Alright and that is all I have for this lore lesson. Don’t forget to leave any questions
if you have them and also any feedback on what you think and what you would like to
see next. I’m going to make a how to roleplay a mage guide at some point but this lore lessons
covers a huge chunk of it so it should help you there as well. If you liked the video,
don’t forget to like and also subscribe if you aren’t already as it really helps keep
these videos going and the channel improving. Thanks a lot for taking the time out of your
day to watch this video and see you next time.